« Previous | of | Next »

Caribbean countries will seek reparations

Black Caribbean Literature (BCL)
Lowe,Frederick H. (Author)
Newspaper Article
Publication Date:
Mar 17-Mar 23, 2014
New Orleans, LA
African American Research Center, Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Subject Term:
Caribbean area, Blacks, Slavery, Reparations
(Special from The North Star News) - The Caribbean Community Secretariat, an organization representing 15 Caribbean countries in a common market, soon will present a plan to Britain, France, the Netherlands, Sweden, Denmark, Norway and Spain concerning reparations for the Transatlantic slave trade. The Caribbean countries that are members of CARICOM are: Antigua and Barbuda, The Baha mas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Montserrat, Saint Lucia, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago. The Caribbean was the scene of a number of slave revolts. They included work slowdowns, sabotage of plantation production and sometimes suicide. Some slaves escaped and joined maroons, or communities of escaped slaves.